Last night, once the kids were in bed, I decided that yes, I really did need a new dress to wear to church today.   Five hours and two ignored Netflix movies later and this is what I had:

IMG_7559

I had pre-washed a heavy black knit earlier in the day in the hopes that I would find time to sew (it is a wool knit that I ordered from Denver Fabrics on sale months ago.)  I wanted something with some shape, so I decided to start with Simplicity 2599.

Simplicity 2599

I loved the french bust darts, but have been envisioning a neckline that is high in the front and scooped in the back.  I figured that this was my chance.  After tracing out the pattern, I continued the line of the shirt approximately to knee length (estimated), drew the neckline up in the front (I actually think I took it a bit too high) and lowered it in the back.

I decided that I needed a stretchy but fast finish on the hems, and as I didn’t want to spend an hour trying to convert my serger over to do a coverstich, I decided to go for a rolled hem.  It isn’t perfect if you look too closely, but it does stretch if needed.  I am hoping it will hold up to wear.
IMG_7570

I created a neckband that ties in the back for a bit of drama from some leftover scraps (this was about 12:30 at night, so I am just glad that it seems to have turned out – given the lateness, the lack of large mirrors and that the DH wasn’t available I was pretty much crossing my fingers).

IMG_7572

Clearly this fabric wrinkles and should have gotten up to take pictures before church (nope, sorry too cold out) or ironed before going out after (sadly also didn’t happen – my bad…)

IMG_7557

I like how the shaping in the bust turned out.  As I mentioned it the neck could be a bit lower in the front (it tends to bunch) and perhaps wider as the neckband brings everything in?

IMG_7549

I am also considering going back and adding some vertical darts at the waistline in the back of the dress.  Thoughts?

Overall, I really think this turned out well – and is my first ever successful night before dress for church!  I think the original pattern sewed up really well and was a great jumping off point for my imagination.   This is a comfy but interesting dress that you couldn’t buy off the rack.  I think that I will definitely make something with this pattern again, maybe even the shirt that it is actually for – you never know.

Excuse the dirt below – I blame the kids…

IMG_7552

